The Association for Linguistic Typology awards three prizes: the Greenberg Award, the Pāṇini Award and the Von der Gabelentz Award.

The first two are aimed at early career researchers: the Greenberg Award honours excellent typological research as part of a dissertation, and the Pāṇini Award honours excellent reference grammars passed as a dissertation.

The second two are both aimed at grammatical descriptions, the difference being that the Pāṇini Award singles out grammars written as PhD theses and the Von der Gabelentz Award is aimed at published grammars.